The Boss Is Back!! New Springsteen Song Out Today

by Ed Magdziak • January 19, 2012 • MusicComments (1)1906

The Boss is back!  Bruce Springsteen’s new song “We Take Care Of Our Own” was released on Amazon and iTunes today.  It is the first single off his highly anticipated album Wrecking Ball due in March.

In the first few seconds you wouldn’t know this was a Springsteen song with just drums and a sampled loop.  But soon enough the familiar guitar and piano kick in and we’re off.  His voice sounds strong and passionate.  This is classic Springsteen territory.  A safe play for a first single.

Word on the street and web is that this will be one of Bruce’s angriest albums.  This is not a bad thing.  My favorite album of Springsteen’s is Darkness on the Edge of Town which is a dark and angry album at times.  I like angry Bruce.  The intriguing appearance of Rage Against The Machine’s Tom Morello lends credence to this speculation. Very anxious to hear how this combination rocks out.

Regardless of The Boss’s anger level, expect social commentary aplenty.  Bruce always has a good feel for the mood of the people when he writes.  It appears that he presages that national mood since he wrote and recorded these tracks prior to the current Occupy movements.

Of course a major question on everyone’s mind is how will the album sound without the Big Man, Clarence Clemons, who passed away last June.  I’m sure his saxophone will be missed on the record.  We will have to wait and see on that.  What about on the upcoming tour?  For this we may have an answer.  Lawrence Kirsch, publisher of the wonderful limited edition Springsteen book The Light in Darkness, pointed us to the site;

“Terry Camp writes us following Light of Day: “Bruce’s ‘Big Man!’ call during ‘The Promised Land,’ as the crowd itself sang the sax solo, was quite poignant. I think it was the birth of a moment that would be great to see on the tour, as Bruce, band and audience become one unit paying tribute to Clarence. It felt very natural, and of course the crowd is going to pick up that so-familiar solo. It’s an uplifting moment that can stand alone — without an actual sax.”

This sounds positively awesome to us.  Can’t wait for the tour.  Bruce is gonna have a big 2012.

Here is the track listing for Wrecking Ball.

1. We Take Care of Our OwnLawrence Kirsch

2. Easy Money

3. Shackled and Drawn

4. Jack of All Trades

5. Death To My Hometown

6. This Depression

7. Wrecking Ball

8. You’ve Got It

9. Rocky Ground

10. Land of Hope and Dreams

11. We Are Alive

12. Swallowed Up (Bonus track)

13. American Land (Bonus track)


Copyright, You Don’t Know Jersey, LLC (2010-2022)

Pin It

Related Posts

One Response to The Boss Is Back!! New Springsteen Song Out Today

  1. […] happy with the state of things in America.  We had a taste of this when Bruce released the single “We Take Care Of Our Own” back in January.  Many people missed the irony of that song as they did “Born in the […]

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.